Play Video

The Steve Olney Memorial Award is an annual design award for final year undergraduates at the Coventry University School of Art and Design. 
It is presented in memory of Steve Olney, one of the founders of Contechs and its former Technical Director, who died suddenly in 2005. The award embodies Steve’s personal values of open-mindedness, cooperation and the pursuit of solutions through teamwork and design and engineering excellence.

The award celebrates the outstanding achievement in design and engineering, represented by the overall final year body of work produced by the candidates. The award judges look for the successful application of technology, craftsmanship and innovation through design. There are cash prizes for the top three students, with a further donation made to the chosen charity of the overall winner.


The judging panel includes a Contechs director, Sam Olney (one of Steve Olney’s sons), and an invited guest judge.


The annual presentation ceremony takes place every summer in the Warwick area and is attended by guests from Coventry University and the automotive and marine industries. The occasion includes an address by a guest speaker and offers the chance for informal networking among the guests and student candidates.


List of Previous Winners

Recent winners of the Award are as follows:

2021 - Tom Hylton

2020 - Matthew Lincoln

2019 - Oliver Ball

2018 - Christofer Saetrang
2017 - Tom Smith
2016 - Chao Zhang
2015 - Sina Rahmani
2014 - Matthew Speare
2013 - Stefan Monro
2012 - Alexander Ibbett
2011 - James Ratcliffe


Winner 2021 - Tom Hylton - "NUGO" A Mobility Concept For The Youth Of Tomorrow